Posey County Community Foundation Announces 2022 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Recipient

The Posey County Community Foundation is pleased to announce that Dalton Kuhn is the 2022 recipient of the Posey County Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Lilly Endowment Community Scholars are known for their community involvement, academic achievement, character and leadership.

“Dalton exemplifies all of the qualities of a Lilly Scholar, he has excelled academically, athletically and in fine arts – all while overcoming some personal setbacks. His dedication to the community and positive attitude are truly impressive,” said Amy Smith, Regional Director of Community Engagement and Impact for the Posey County Community Foundation.

Each Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship provides for full tuition, required fees and a special allocation of up to $900 per year for required books and required equipment for four years of undergraduate study on a full-time basis leading to a baccalaureate degree at any eligible Indiana public or private nonprofit college or university.

Dalton Kuhn is the son of Paul and Erin Kuhn, of Mt. Vernon. He is a senior at Mt. Vernon High School and plans to attend Indiana University or the University of Southern Indiana, studying Pre-Med/ Biology. In addition to exceling academically, Kuhn has been involved in a variety of school activities including Honor Society, Student Council, Key Club, Student Government and Thespian Club. He has served as the Vice President of the Class of 2022, both his junior and senior years. Kuhn also earned four varsity letters and was a member of the Big 8 All-Conference Team for swimming his freshman year. He played soccer his sophomore, junior and senior years for the Mt. Vernon Wildcat Soccer Team. Kuhn excels in fine arts and has been in multiple plays and musical productions, including the Children’s Theater. Academically, he has earned the Rising Star of Indiana Award and Academic Honors. Outside of school, Kuhn is actively involved with the Boy Scouts of America, obtaining his Rank of Eagle Scout (spending over 120 hours on the project), earned one Eagle Palm his freshman year, and the Order of the Arrow his sophomore year. 

In nominating Posey County’s Lilly Endowment Community Scholar(s), consideration was given to academic achievement in completed course work, difficulty of high school curriculum, completion of college prep curriculum prior to graduation, community service and volunteer activities by the Posey County Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Nominating Committee. After the field of applicants was narrowed down by the Vanderburgh County Community Foundation’s Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program (LECSP) Committee, nominees were submitted to the statewide administrator of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program, Independent Colleges of Indiana, for final review and approval of the scholarship recipients.

Scholarship award alternates were also announced. Kaylee Bender received the honor of First Alternate and receive a scholarship from the Friends of Posey County Fund. Renee Bippus received the Second Alternate award.

The LECSP is administered locally by the Community Foundation, with the support of local high schools, and the administrative oversight by the Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI).  Lilly Endowment created the LECSP for the 1998-1999 school year and has supported the program every year since with tuition grants totaling in excess of $439 million. More than 5,000 Indiana students have received the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship since the program’s inception.

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are: 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.